MGEU - Manitoba Government and General Employees Union

Our Leadership

The MGEU is a democratically-run organization.

Through "majority rule," members elect their fellow members as stewards, table officers and convention delegates. At the MGEU Convention held every two years, a member-based board of directors works with elected delegates to make decisions regarding overall union policy, direction and goals.

Throughout the year, the Provincial Officers provide direction for the union along with the rest of the Board of Directors,who are elected from specific Locals and each provincial Area. As well, Standing Committees, chaired by a board member plus one member elected from each provincial Area, work throughout the year to forward progressive policies and benefits on behalf of their fellow members.

MGEU Board of Directors

MGEU Board Mandate

The Board will provide high-level oversight to the management of the MGEU, to ensure that the objectives of the organization related to the needs and priorities of its members are met. The Board will demonstrate leadership to its members, through authentic engagement and the creation, support, and communication of new strategies, to ensure that the MGEU remains as relevant in the future as it is today. The Board will invest in their own foundations, related to their structure, processes, development, and evaluation, to ensure that they have the opportunity and capacity to govern effectively, and to lead by example.

board-of-directors-2022-06-10.jpg (161 KB)

MGEU Provincial Officers

  • President: Kyle Ross
  • 1st Vice President: Scott Cloney
  • 2nd Vice President: Kimberley Lynn
  • 3rd Vice President: Cris Quon
  • 4th Vice President: Stephanie Swain

Civil Service Component Directors

  • Administration: Michelle Scebenski
  • Clerical: Siobhan McLeod
  • Corrections: Jeffrey Ready
  • Legal: Deb Jamerson
  • Physical Sciences: Brian Wilson
  • Social Sciences: Ciara Shattuck
  • Trades: Eldon Bergson

Area Directors

  • Area 01: Leslie Saskowski
  • Area 02: Shelley Wiggins
  • Area 03: Dana Troke
  • Area 04: Ed Miller
  • Area 05: Amanda Russell
  • Area 06: Andrew Milejszo
  • Area 07: Pamela Narynski
  • Area 08: Dawne Palmer

Component Directors

  • Community Support: Tammy Crowe
  • Community-Based Social Services: Michelle Huskilson
  • Golico: David Hill
  • Health Care Support Services: Shelly Rougeau
  • MPI: Tracy Groenewegen
  • Post Secondary Education: Matthew Fontaine
  • Technical / Professional: Diana Schultz


  • Staff Representative: Nicole Gariepy, ACTE